Independent-style guide, published by Fort Lauderdale Seawall Repair, which does on-site assessments and routes jobs to licensed contractors. It does not do licensed work itself. Links to its site are sponsored. About and disclosure

Boat lift cost in South Florida by lift size, with a sizing calculator

Published installed ranges for South Florida boat lifts run from the high single-digit thousands to the low forty-thousands, and the site decides much of the number. This page puts the sources side by side, then lets you size a lift and build a budget.

Short answerJKT Marine publishes $8,000 to $12,000 for a 7,000 lb class lift up to $28,000 to $42,000 for a 27,000 lb elevator, excluding pilings and permits.[2] SFL Seawall says most Fort Lauderdale residential installations are $12,000 to $40,000 installed.[1] All of these are sellers' ranges. None is a quote for your dock.

Published ranges, side by side

Lift classJKT Marine (South Florida, excludes pilings and permits)SFL Seawall (Fort Lauderdale)Florida Lifts & Docks (Southwest Florida, other region)
7,000 lb$8,000 to $12,000No per-class table7,000 to 10,000 lb: $8,000 to $13,500
10,000 lb$11,000 to $16,00010,000 to 16,000 lb four-post for a 25 to 30 ft boat: $12,000 to $24,0007,000 to 10,000 lb: $8,000 to $13,500
16,000 lb$16,000 to $24,000Included in the $12,000 to $24,000 line above$14,000 to $19,000
24,000 to 27,000 lb27,000 lb elevator: $28,000 to $42,000Elevator and no-profile lifts cost more per pound24,000 lb+ offshore: $22,000+
All residential, any classNot statedMost $12,000 to $40,000 installedNot stated
Sources: JKT Marine, SFL Seawall and Florida Lifts & Docks pages listed below, checked Oct 31, 2026. The three sellers define their numbers differently, so rows are not like for like.

Citations: JKT[2], SFL[1][6], Florida Lifts & Docks[3]. The Southwest Florida column is shown only to illustrate how much regional prices can differ; it is not a Broward figure.

Read the bias. Every number above comes from a company that installs lifts. SFL Seawall also says its estimate is drawn from its own recent quotes.[1] Large-capacity, elevator or new-piling jobs can run much higher; SFL Seawall's press release says projects can exceed $75,000.[4]

Boat lift size calculator

Assumptions and sources. Loaded weight = dry weight + fuel gallons x 6 lb + water gallons x 8.3 lb + gear. Fuel at about 6 lb per gallon comes from the contractor guides;[5][3] water at about 8.3 lb per US gallon is a physical constant. Margin shown at 20, 25 and 30 percent: 20 to 30 percent per Florida Lifts & Docks, 20 to 25 percent per SFL Seawall.[4] Common capacity steps: 7,000, 10,000, 13,000, 16,000 and 20,000+ lb (SFL Seawall)[5] plus the 27,000 lb class JKT Marine lists. The result is a planning number. A contractor should confirm capacity from the real boat, the water depth and the lift design.

Boat lift budget builder

Assumptions and sources. Lift class prices are JKT Marine's installed ranges, excluding pilings and permits.[2] Concrete pilings $1,200 to $2,500 each; permits $500 to $2,500; electrical run $800 to $2,500, all JKT Marine.[7] Output is simple addition of the low and high ends. It is an example of how a quote is built, not a price for your property.

What moves the number

Seven questions for every quote

  1. What capacity are you specifying, and from what loaded weight?
  2. Are pilings, permits and electrical in this number or priced separately?
  3. Which lift type and why, given my canal width and the city projection rules?
  4. What are the cable, motor and hardware materials?
  5. Who pulls the permits, and what is the expected timeline?
  6. What does the warranty cover and for how long?
  7. Can I see the quote broken out line by line?

Common questions

How much does a boat lift cost in Fort Lauderdale?

One Fort Lauderdale contractor says most residential installations land between $12,000 and $40,000 installed.[1] Another South Florida contractor publishes $8,000 to $42,000 depending on lift class, excluding pilings and permits.[2] Treat both as seller-published ranges and get written quotes.

What size boat lift do I need?

Size to the boat's fully loaded weight, not its length. Add dry weight, fuel at about 6 lb per gallon, water, batteries and gear, then add a 20 to 30 percent margin.[3][4] Use the calculator on this page.

Is the dry weight on the brochure enough?

No. A contractor guide notes the brochure number is dry weight, and the lift has to carry the wet one.[5]

Do prices include pilings and permits?

It depends on the seller. JKT Marine's published class prices exclude pilings and permits,[2] while SFL Seawall's range is described as covering capacity, lift type, pilings and electrical.[1] Ask every contractor which line items are in the number.

Ask for a boat lift quote

Related: Repair or replace a boat lift · Lift permits

Sources and verified dates

Statements marked [n] come from these sources. Seller pages are listed as ranges they publish, not as quotes. If a rule or fee matters to a decision, confirm it with the agency before you act.

  1. South Florida Seawall (contractor) (Seller published range (contractor bias))
    Most residential Fort Lauderdale installations $12,000 to $40,000 installed; elevator and no-profile lifts cost more per pound; quoted line by line after a site visit.
    SFL Seawall: Boat Lifts Fort Lauderdale
    Verified on Oct 31, 2026.
  2. JKT Marine (contractor) (Seller published range (contractor bias))
    Installed ranges excluding pilings and permits: 7,000 lb $8,000 to $12,000; 10,000 lb $11,000 to $16,000; 16,000 lb $16,000 to $24,000; 27,000 lb elevator $28,000 to $42,000.
    JKT Marine: Boat Lift Cost Guide, South Florida (2026)
    Verified on Oct 31, 2026.
  3. Florida Lifts & Docks (contractor, Southwest Florida) (Seller published range, other region (contractor bias))
    Size to fully loaded weight (hull, engines, fuel at about 6 lb per gallon, water, batteries, gear) plus roughly 20 to 30 percent margin; ranges quoted for Southwest Florida: jet ski $3,000 to $5,000, 7,000 to 10,000 lb $8,000 to $13,500, 16,000 lb $14,000 to $19,000, 24,000 lb+ $22,000+.
    Florida Lifts & Docks: Boat Lifts in Southwest Florida, The Complete 2026 Guide
    Verified on Oct 31, 2026.
  4. South Florida Seawall (contractor) (Seller press release (contractor bias))
    Capacity should be calculated from true wet load plus a safety margin of 20 to 25 percent; most residential saltwater lifts run $12,000 to $35,000 installed, with large units, elevators or new pilings able to exceed $75,000 (vendor estimate).
    South Florida Seawall 2026 Saltwater Boat Lift Guide (press release)
    Verified on Oct 31, 2026.
  5. South Florida Seawall (contractor) (Seller guidance (contractor bias))
    Common residential capacity steps are 7,000, 10,000, 13,000, 16,000 and 20,000+ lb; the brochure number is dry weight and the lift carries the wet weight (engines, fuel at about six pounds per gallon, water, batteries, gear).
    SFL Seawall: Boat Lift Cost Installed
    Verified on Oct 31, 2026.
  6. South Florida Seawall (contractor) (Seller published range (contractor bias))
    A right-sized four-post lift for a 25 to 30 ft boat (typically 10,000 to 16,000 lb) runs $12,000 to $24,000 installed in South Florida.
    SFL Seawall: Is a Boat Lift Worth It?
    Verified on Oct 31, 2026.
  7. JKT Marine (contractor) (Seller published range (contractor bias))
    Concrete pilings $1,200 to $2,500 each, a standard lift needs 4; permits $500 to $2,500 depending on municipality and scope; electrical run $800 to $2,500.
    JKT Marine: Boat Lift Cost Guide, South Florida (2026)
    Verified on Oct 31, 2026.
  8. South Florida Seawall (contractor) (Seller guidance (contractor bias))
    At the same capacity a four-post lift is generally the most economical because the load is shared across four pilings; elevator lifts cost more per pound because the structure cantilevers off the seawall, which is what makes them work on narrow canals; platform (no-profile) lifts are the premium option.
    SFL Seawall: Boat Lift Cost Installed
    Verified on Oct 31, 2026.
  9. Souffront Contractors (contractor) (Seller published range (contractor bias))
    Dock electrical systems (shore power, lighting) need a licensed marine electrician and, in most jurisdictions, a separate electrical permit (vendor statement; confirm with your building department).
    Souffront Contractors: Dock Repair Cost in South Florida
    Verified on Oct 31, 2026.